News

Mix of the Day – It Begins Here

30/03/2020

Seeing as we’ve all got a bit of time on our hands, we’re going back into our archives from both Spiritland sites and picking out a mix for each day  – uptempo, downtempo and everything else. Hours and hours of musical magic to keep you entertained while things are quiet

For our Spiritland Legends mix series click here

 

Wednesday 3rd June: Guy Dermosessian

The Kalakuta Soul main man brought his incredible sound to Spiritland from April 2017

 

Monday 1st June: Mixmaster Morris

A true legend and pioneer of the Ambient scene, Mixmaster Morris plays beautiful and transcendent music.

Sunday 31st May: Matt Timms

A regular face behind the turntables at Spiritland King’s Cross, Matt Timms digs deeper than most for rare musical gold

 

Saturday 30th May: Sean Rowley

Sean Rowley is a broadcaster, DJ and all-round musical encyclopedia with deep roots in Country, AOR, Americana, Power Pop and more. Here’s his first visit to Spiritland back in March 2017

 

Friday 29th May: Emotional Pop

There’s no shame in their game. Hear Cosmic Niles and Baggy do their thing at Spiritland.

 

Thursday 28th May: Timothy J Fairplay

Timothy J Fairplay is known for his deep, intrepid and heady sound. This is his set from March 2017 at Spiritland King’s Cross.

 

Wednesday 27th May: Neville Watson

Legendary DJ, house music authority and analogue production overlord Neville Watson came to Spiritland back in March 2017 for a less-jacking-than-usual set.

 

Tuesday 26th May: Jan Hammered

DJ, photographer, designer – hear the the smooth sound of Jan Hammered from March 2017 visit to Spiritland

 

Monday 25th May: James Endeacott

James Endeacott gets everywhere and knows everyone. We’ve been lucky to have him play down at Spiritland many times, Here’s his first visit from March 2017.

 

Sunday 24th May: Digitonal

Andy Digitonal has made his name as a producer and DJ in the very deepest end of electronica. Check out his sound here from his 2017 visit

 

Saturday 23rd May: Phil Mison

Balearic legend Phil Mison was there when it all began, and still as prolific and intrepid as ever. Here’s his first set from many visits to Spiritland in March 2017

 

Friday 22nd May: Gatto Fritto

Well known for his immaculate productions on International Feel amongst many other labels, Gatto Fritto also tends to a colossal record collection. Here he is playing in March 2017.

 

Thursday 21st May: Leo Zero

Illustrious digger Leo Zero joined us for another evening at Spiritland in March 2017, Take another ride through his record collection.

 

Wednesday 20th May: Alexis Taylor feat. Green Gartside

Alexis Taylor and Scritti Politti’s Green Gartside are two likeminded musical innovators. They came together in February 2017 at Spiritland for this one-off session.

 

Tuesday 19th May: Kenneth Bager

At the heart of Copenhagen’s musical scene, Kenneth Bager is a bona fide Balearic legend. Here’s his session from February 2017.

 

Monday 18th May: Esa

Originally from Cape Town and now resident in London, Esa’s distinctive sound has led to residencies, radio show and gigs around the world. He first played for us back in February 2017.

 

Sunday 17th May: Max Tundra

The musical mind of Max Tundra is a unique place – blow your mind with music you’ve never heard before.

 

Saturday 16th May: Mafalda

Mafalda is a serious collector with a instinctive feel for rhythm and melody. Hear her set from our early days.

 

Friday 15th May: Tony Higgins

Jazz authority, compilation guru and dapper dan Tony Higgins’ set from 2017.

 

Thursday 14th May: Youth

The legendary producer Youth first played at Spiritland in February 2017. It was LOUD. Here’s his set.

 

Wednesday 13th May: Steve Cobby

The Solid Doctor will see you now. Steve Cobby is Hull’s most valuable export – DJ, producer, world-class remixer and collector. Here’s his set from 2017.

 

Tuesday 12th May: Sam Don

Part of the Spiritland family, here’s one of Sam Don’s early sets from our King’s Cross venue.

 

Monday 11th May: Lovefingers

Our cosmic brother from LA dropped in way back in February 2017 for a deep and eclectic session.

 

Sunday 10th May: Luke Solomon

One of the greats. We were very happy to welcome the prolific DJ, producer and label boss Luke Solomon to Spiritland in 2017.

 

Saturday 9th May: Simon Lee (Faze Action)

Simon Lee is half of the shimmering disco dons Faze Action. He played at Spiritland in February 2017, and many times since then. Find out why.

 

Thursday 7th May: Jean-Claude (If Music)

Jean-Claude is the man behind If Music, London’s most civilised record store and has deep roots in London’s music scene. Hear him play in January 2017.

 

Wednesday 6th May: Kay Suzuki

Kay Suzuki has an uncommonly broad and eclectic ear. Hear him play dub, new wave, no-wave and music from the soul.

 

Tuesday 5th May: Joe Goddard

Hot Chip dude, 1 of 2 Bears, prolific DJ and producer, Joe Goddard is everywhere you turn in London’s club scene. Here he is at Spiritland all the way back in January 2017.

 

Monday 4th May: Phil Cooper

Phil Cooper has an untouchable role in the history of nightlife in the UK and beyond. Hear him on his first trip to Spiritland.

 

Sunday 3rd May: Nik Weston (Mukatsuku Records)

Mukatsuku are famed for their immaculate releases of jazz, funk and more on vinyl. Hear what Nik is about in a dip into his musical world.

 

Saturday 2nd May: Julian Mash

Country rock, folk, acoustic stylings and more from author and journalist Julian Mash

&nbsp

Friday 1st May: Nathan Gregory Wilkins

Nathan Gregory Wilkins has a totally distinctive and considered approach to his sound. Hear him in action from the early days of Spiritland

 

Thursday 30th April: Richard Norris

We revisit Richard Norris’s set from January 2017 as he takes us to a cosmic wonderland.

 

Wednesday 29th April: Pete Paphides

Paphides Plays Pop. Journalist, collector, DJ and author of the fantastic Broken Greek book we’re all reading dropped by in January 2017.

 

Tuesday 28th April: Piers Harrison (Soft Rocks)

Piers Harrison goes deeper than most in his musical journey. Take a ride through his record collection.

 

Monday 27th April: Auntie Flo

Auntie Flo has a totally distinctive sound, where contemporary electronica meets Highlife. Here is his mix from 2017 for your Monday listening.

 

Sunday 26th April: DJ Fitz

DJ Fitz is one of the heaviest collectors out there, playing funky Turkish prog, cosmic synth jams and rare krautrock. Here is his set for us from the early days of 2017.

 

Saturday 25th April: Rupert Clervaux

Musician, writer and audio engineer, Rupert joined us right at the end of 2016 for this eclectic session.

 

Friday 24th April: Joe Muggs

Cold Hands, Warm Heart was the concept from DJ, author and journalist Joe. Here’s what it sounds like

 

Thursday 23rd April: A Man Called Adam

Longtime Balearic legends A Man Called Adam came by in December with a bag of records and a couple of synths. This was the end product.

 

Wednesday 22nd April: Apiento and Andrew Hale

A singularly tasteful musical duo, Apiento teams up with producer and musical Andrew Hale for this session from December 2016.

 

Tuesday 21st April: DJ Food

DJ Food – Going deeper and wider than most, DJ Food plays a mellow and inspirational set highlighting the breadth of his tastes at his first Spiritland set in December 2016.

 

Monday 20th April: Dan Bean

Longterm Spiritland resident Dan Bean (Transcendence Orchestra, Bleep 43) in one of his regular appearances.

 

Sunday 19th April: Paradise Bangkok

With his entirely unique and esoteric musical worldview, Paradise Bangkok played in December 2016.

 

Saturday 18th April: Mixmaster Morris

Ambient overlord Mixmaster Morris joined us for a Sunday afternoon chillout session in December 2016.

 

Friday 17th April: Severino

Day One Spiritland family, Severino is usually found in the eye of the hurricane with Horse Meat Disco compadres. Here he dips into the other end of his record collection.

 

Thursday 16th April: Rhythm Doctor

A true DJ legend, with roots in Coventry, Birmingham, Nottingham and now Tallin, Rhythm Doctor shows you what four decades behind the decks sounds like.

 

Wednesday 15th April: Aficionado

Moonboots and Jason Boardman’s party Aficionado travels down from Mancunia for the first time. Feel the realness.

 

Tuesday 14th April: Steve Cobby

Fila Brazilia, The Solid Doctor – Steve Cobby’s musical output goes by many names, but a thread of high quality electronic funk runs through them all. Here he in action for us way back when.

 

Monday 13th April: Adventure In Paradise

Katie Barber and Michelle Kelly’s musical lovechild hit Spiritland for the first time in November 2016

 

Sunday 12th April: Charlie Bones

The daily purveyor of good vibes, every morning on NTS Radio. DO!!!YOU!!! main man digs into his bottomless collection for gold

 

Saturday 11th April: Leo Elstob

Cultural magpie Leo Elstob played at Spiritland in November 2016 – and has been back many times since for obvious reasons

 

Friday 10th April: Pete Herbert

Producer, DJ, remixer and all-round good guy. We revisit Pete’s set from November 2016

 

Thursday 9th April: Doug Shipton

Doug is part of the heavyweight diggers crew FINDERS KEEPERS and has the tunes to back it up. Deep and unexpected musical moves

Wednesday 8th April: Elle Andrews

Elle has a unique sound, and that’s why we love what she does.

 

Tuesday 7th April: DMX Krew

The one who goes by the name DMX Krew stretches out musically on this rare Spiritland session

 

Monday 6th April: Ruf Dug

From Mancunia via Ibiza – Ruf Dug lets us into his musical universe

 

Sunday 5th April: Bradley Zero & Zakia

Rhythm Section’s Bradley and Zakia play back to back action from October 2016.

 

Saturday 4th April: Reference Point

Mark GV Taylor and George Arthur go deep into their libraries of soft jazz, Latin, Americana, AOR and more. This was their first session for us

 

Friday 3rd April: Errol (Touching Bass)

Touching Bass’ main man Errol touches down for the first time at Spiritland

 

Thursday 2nd April: Dave Okumu (The Invisible) at Spiritland King’s Cross

Guitarist, producer and cultural catalyst Dave Okumu played for us in the very early days

 

Wednesday 1st April: Chris Coco at Spiritland King’s Cross – 1st October 2016

Supreme Balearic stylings from the ever-prolific Chris Coco

 

Tuesday 31st March: Patrick Forge at Spiritland Kings Cross – 17th September 2016

Jazz, Latin, AOR and more from the digger’s digger

 

Monday 30th March: Bill Brewster at Spiritland Kings Cross – 9th September 2016

As many things do, it all started with Bill Brewster – here’s a set from a very early testing night when we were still making sure everything worked.

Related news